7°C / 45°F

Broken clouds, light rain

St Peter's Abbey

St Peter's Abbey

St Peter's Abbey

St Peter's Abbey

St Peter's Abbey

St Peter's Abbey

St Peter's Abbey

The refectory wing of St Peter’s Abbey is authentically medieval. The splendid garden with its vineyard and ruins is a green oasis in the heart of the city.

The St Peter’s Abbey holds prestigious internationally-oriented exhibitions every year. You can visit the abbey with a unique movie guide.

Enjoy a virtual visit to the St Peter's Abbey.

Because of the Floralies, it will not be possible to visit all sections of the abbey up to and including 2 May.

  • The ground floor cannot be visited free of charge (this is included in the Floralies trail).
  • The exhibition ‘Tussen Hemel en Aarde’ (Between Heaven and Earth) is not accessible.
  • The Alison trail will be modified but will not be optimal at this time.

The abbey garden and courtyard of the World of Kina: the House form part of the Floralies and can be visited free of charge.

Opening hours

  • F 29/04  >
  • S 30/04  >
  • S 01/05  >
  • M 02/05 closed
  • T 03/05  >
  • W 04/05  >
  • T 05/05  >
Show full calendar


Movie guide



Historische Huizen Gent
Sint-Pietersplein 9
9000 Gent
Tel.: +32-92668500
Fax: +32-92439734
URL - link: Sint-Pietersabdij
Stadsplan: D6



9000 Gent
Tel.: +32-92101075
E-mailadres: boekjebezoek@gent.be


Visitor’s city guide Ghent

Visitor’s city guide Ghent

Please feel free to browse through this guide and get to know our city a little better.

  • Kindvriendelijke musea

Public transport





In the neighbourhood

Carll Cneut
Embedded thumbnail for Sint-Pietersabdij "Sint-Pietersabdij"


Lam Gods Gent
The Van Eyck brothers painted this unique altarpiece in 1432. It is the highlight of the Flemish Primitives and a milestone in art history.
Sint-Baafskathedraal Gent
A trove of art treasures: 22 altars, a Rococo pulpit in marble and oak and of course the exquisite highlight: "The Adoration of the Mystic Lamb" by the Van Eyck brothers.
Hotel d´Hane-Steenhuyse Gent
In his 1767 building application, the German Count Emmanuel Ignace d'Hane asked for permission to rebuild the front of his house, located in the Veldstraat.