On the occasion of the theme year "OMG! Van Eyck was here", Ghent welcomes a number of top national and international artists to brighten up the city center with a work of art inspired by the Mystic Lamb.

Hyuro - surrealism with a message

Since the end of August, the first Van Eyck wall painting by the Argentinian artist Hyuro has adorned the corner of Bij Sint-Jacobs. Hyuro is known for her dreamlike, surrealistic compositions in which women often play the leading role. The soft colors in her work give her pictorial style an intimate and delicate atmosphere. She also remained true to her recognizable style for her interpretation of the Mystic Lamb on the facade of the antique shop Dino Antiques.

With the sheet, which covers three people, Hyuro makes the link with the rich fabrics and robes that can be seen on the Ghent Altarpiece. The floral motif is a nod to the botanical splendor on the Altarpiece. The artist also likes to incorporate a political message in her works. With this 'mural' she wants to raise the refugee issue and the way in which the politics deal with it.

Pastel - flora in the city

After Hyuro, it was Pastel, another Argentinian artist, who gave the rear façade of Kuiperskaai 14 a true transformation. His work "Pilgrims Pot" is largely inspired by the Ghent Altarpiece. We previously saw the flowers - roses, lilies and columbines - on the Mystic Lamb on Mary's crown. The flowerpot was decorated with the background of the panel with the pilgrims.

Pastel's work can be defined as "Urban acupuncture" in which he uses murals as the start of renewing non-places, starting from the local identity of the place, the flora.

Isaac Cordal - lonely in society

The Spanish artist Isaac Coral makes statuettes inspired by the panels with the portrayals of Adam and Eve. There are 15 miniature couples scattered throughout the city center along the street, high above a doorway, on the windowsill, etc.

Isaac Cordals works can be found in the streets of London, Berlin, Paris, Barcelona, ​​Brussels, ... You have probably walked past them without noticing anything. The statuettes are tucked away on facades, electricity cables, drains and other unexpected places. In this way the artist emphasizes the loneliness and isolation of modern times. His work is a critical reflection on our behavior.

Strook - serene silhouettes

The Belgian artist STROOK, in daily life simply known as Stefaan De Croock, also represents homegrown talent. As part of the Van Eyck year, he will perform a diptych in the Braderijstraat, on the side wall of B&B Great Gent, as an ode to Van Eyck and the Mystic Lamb.

At first sight his work shows us two figures that are depicted diagonally opposite each other. Actually it is one single person looking in the mirror, in confrontation with itself. Whereas Van Eyck chose themes in religious spheres, De Croock clearly opts for a more personal approach. A nice fact: the work of art is really Ghent. STROOK used recycled scrap wood from St Bavo's Cathedral, LUCA School of Arts, a former supporter café of KAA Ghent and the Leopold Barracks.

The artist, who himself studied at LUCA School of Arts, is known for his subdued silhouettes from weathered wood, which was degraded by time. His work could already be seen from Watou to Mexico City.

Bosoletti - desencuentro

Argentinian-born artist Francisco Bosoletti created the mural Desencuentro in the picturesque Ghent alley Mageleinsteeg. For the work, Bosoletti tried to look at the Ghent Altarpiece through the eyes of the van Eyck brothers themselves. The panels depicting Adam and Eve attracted his attention right away. They seem to embrace all other elements of the historic masterpiece. Bosoletti states there would not have been a story if Adam and Eve had not met, and applies this theory to our own reality: every single encounter we have may change the course of our history.

Bosoletti was born in Armstrong, a small village in the Argentinian province of Santa Fe. He currently works from Italy, where his work has garnered considerable attention. He is quite renowned in the international urban art scene and has participated in various projects in Europe and America.

Monkey Bird Crew - music and instruments

‘La Sonate du Canal' (The Canal Sonata) is created by the French duo Monkey Bird Crew. The work can be admired on the back facade of the Handelsbeurs (across the water at the Ketelvest). Monkey Bird Crew has created a visual link with the music and musical instruments used at the time of the Mystic Lamb and Van Eyck. The monumental Handelsbeurs building, in which Handelsbeurs Concert Hall is located, fits perfectly within that theme.

 

Smates - The Monuments Men

Following the cinema release of 'The Monuments Men' in 2014, Belgian graffiti artist Bart Smeets painted a large mural on the side wall of the mansion on the corner of Predikherenlei and Van Stopenberghestraat, close to St. Bavo’s Cathedral. Film producer 20th Century Fox was looking for a contemporary way to promote ‘The Monuments Men’. The city of Ghent welcomed this contemporary work with open arms, a permanent promotion of the Ghent Altarpiece, which plays a prominent role in this film.

Video Url

Taquen - Jan Van Eyck

Ghent has another mural. This time the Spanish artist Taquen set to work and transformed a lost wall into a true work of art. The work, an ode to Jan Van Eyck, with its soft pastel and earth tones blends in perfectly with the historical framework of the city. This work of art is more than welcome for the present staff of the city service. They admire this work every day from their terrace. Can you guess where this new hidden treasure can be seen from? We'll give you 1 tip: defy the tower staircase of the Castle of the Counts

Taquen - Jan Van Eyck

Cee Pil & Blommm – John the Baptist

Within the framework of the Ghent Altarpiece-section in the television programme Iedereen Beroemd, artist Cee Pil, in collaboration with flower shop Blommm, has provided a new Van Eyck graffiti artwork. From now on, a colourful John the Baptist decorates the side facade of Vrijdagsmarkt 11. Cee Pil is known for his 'glitch'. In his work he merges two images into one another. John the Baptist has the same glitch however Blommm covered the work with flowers, which results in a unique combination.

Discover street art during the Seven Senses Tour

Do you want to admire these beautiful works with a guide? During the Seven Senses Tour, a Ghent host will take you on a sensory walk through Ghent's city center. In addition to street art works, you will be taken along historic gems, navigating the inland waterways and introduced to some of the  Ghentian craftsmen. All your senses are challenged during this unique experience.

The Ghent street art map

Can't get enough of street art? Under the label SORRY, NOT SORRY, the City of Ghent supports street art all year round, with the most visible examples being the large murals that can be admired throughout the city. Explore the Ghent murals using the street art map.

A l'occasion de l'année thématique « OMG! Van Eyck was here », Gand accueille un certain nombre de grands artistes nationaux et internationaux pour égayer le centre-ville avec une œuvre d'art inspirée de l'agneau mystique.

Hyuro - surréalisme avec un message

Depuis fin août, la première peinture murale Van Eyck de l'artiste argentin Hyuro orne le coin de Bij Sint-Jacobs. Hyuro est connue pour ses compositions oniriques et surréalistes dans lesquelles les femmes jouent souvent le rôle principal. Les couleurs douces de son travail confèrent à son style pictural une atmosphère intime et délicate. Elle est également restée fidèle à son style reconnaissable pour son interprétation de l'agneau mystique sur la façade de la boutique d'antiquités Dino Antiques.

Avec le drap, qui couvre trois personnes, Hyuro fait le lien avec les riches tissus et robes que l'on peut voir sur l'Agneau mystique. Le motif floral est un clin d'œil à la splendeur botanique du retable. L'artiste aime également intégrer un message politique dans ses œuvres. Avec cette «murale», elle souhaite soulever la question des réfugiés et la manière dont les décideurs politiques la traitent.

Pastel - la flore de la ville

Après Hyuro, c'est Pastel, un autre artiste argentin, qui a donné à la façade arrière de Kuiperskaai 14 une véritable transformation. Son œuvre "Pilgrims Pot" est largement inspirée de l'Agneau mystique. Nous avons déjà vu les fleurs - roses, lys et ancolies - sur l'agneau mystique sur la couronne de Marie. Le pot de fleurs était décoré du fond du panneau des pèlerins.

L'œuvre de Pastel peut être définie comme «l'acupuncture urbaine» dans laquelle il utilise des peintures murales comme début de renouvellement des non-lieux, à partir de l'identité locale du lieu, la flore.

Isaac Cordal - la solitude de la societé

L'artiste espagnol Isaac Coral réalise des statuettes inspirées des panneaux avec Adam et Eve. Il y a 15 couples miniatures dispersés dans le centre-ville le long de la rue, au-dessus d'une porte, sur le rebord de la fenêtre, etc.

Les oeuvres d'Isaac Cordal se retrouvent dans les rues de Londres, Berlin, Paris, Barcelone, Bruxelles, ... Vous les avez probablement passées devant sans rien remarquer. Les statuettes sont cachées sur les façades, les câbles électriques, les drains et autres endroits inattendus. De cette façon, l'artiste met l'accent sur la solitude et l'isolement des temps modernes. Son travail est une réflexion critique sur notre comportement.

Strook - silhouettes serrées

L'artiste belge STROOK, dans la vie quotidienne simplement connu comme Stefaan De Croock, représente aussi le talent local. Dans le cadre de l'année Van Eyck et pour rendre hommage à celui-ci et à son Agneau mystique, il interprétera un diptyque dans la Braderijstraat, sur le mur latéral du B&B Great Gent.

À première vue, son travail nous montre deux figures diagonalement opposées. En fait, c'est une seule personne qui se regarde dans le miroir, en confrontation avec soi-même. Alors que Van Eyck choisissait des thèmes dans les sphères religieuses, De Croock opte clairement pour une approche plus personnelle. Un fait agréable : l'œuvre d'art est vraiment gantoise. STROOK a utilisé des chutes de bois recyclées provenant de la cathédrale Saint-Bavon, de l'école des arts LUCA, d'un ancien café de supporters de KAA Gand et de la caserne Léopold.

L'artiste, qui a lui-même étudié à l'école des arts LUCA, est connu pour ses silhouettes discrètes en bois vieilli, dégradé par le temps. On pouvait déjà voir son travail de Watou à Mexico.

Bosoletti - desencuentro

Dans la pittoresque Mageleinsteeg, l’artiste argentin Francisco Bosoletti a réalisé la peinture murale Desencuentro. Pour cette œuvre, Bosoletti a voulu aborder l’Agneau mystique à travers le regard des frères Van Eyck. Les panneaux d’Adam et Ève ont immédiatement attiré son attention. Ils enlacent pour ainsi dire toutes les autres parties de l’œuvre historique. Bosoletti affirme que sans la rencontre entre Adam et Ève, il n’y aurait peut-être pas eu d’histoire et que, par extension, toutes les rencontres que nous faisons peuvent déterminer le cours de notre histoire.

Bosoletti est né à Armstrong, un petit village situé dans la province de Santa Fe en Argentine. Il vit actuellement en Italie, où son travail suscite un grand intérêt. Connu sur la scène internationale du street art, il a participé à des projets en Europe et en Amérique.

Monkey Bird Crew - musique et instruments

‘La Sonate du Canal’ est du duo français Monkey Bird Crew. On peut voir l'œuvre sur la façade arrière de la Handelsbeurs (de l'autre côté de l'eau au Ketelvest). Dans cette œuvre, Monkey Bird Crew fait le lien avec la musique et les instruments de l'époque de l’Agneau Mystique et de Van Eyck. Le bâtiment monumental de la Handelsbeurs, dans lequel se trouve la salle de concert du même nom, s'inscrit parfaitement dans ce thème.

Smates - The Monuments Men

Après la sortie au cinéma de "The Monuments Men'' en 2014, le graffeur belge Bart Smeets a peint une grande fresque sur le mur latéral du manoir au coin de la Predikherenlei et de la Van Stopenberghestraat, près de la cathédrale St. Bavon. Le producteur 20th Century Fox cherchait une manière contemporaine de promouvoir "The Monuments Men". La ville de Gand a accueilli à bras ouverts cette œuvre contemporaine, promotion permanente du retable de Gand, qui joue un rôle de premier plan dans ce film.

Video Url

Taquen - Jan Van Eyck

Gand a une autre peinture murale. Cette fois, l'artiste espagnol Taquen s'est mis au travail et a transformé un mur perdu en une véritable œuvre d'art. L'œuvre, une ode à Jan Van Eyck, avec ses tons doux de pastel et de terre, s'intègre parfaitement dans le cadre historique de la ville. Cette œuvre d'art est plus que bienvenue pour le personnel du service municipal présent à base journalière. Ils admirent ce travail tous les jours depuis leur terrasse. Pouvez-vous deviner d'où ce nouveau trésor caché peut être admiré? Nous vous donnons un bon tuyau: défiez les escaliers de la tour du château des comtes.

Taquen - Jan Van Eyck

Cee Pil & Blommm – Jean-Baptiste

Dans le cadre de la section concernant l’Agneau Mystique de l'émission de télévision Iedereen Beroemd, l'artiste Cee Pil, en collaboration avec le fleuriste Blommm, réalise un nouveau graffiti Van Eyck. Désormais, un Jean-Baptiste en couleur décorera la façade latérale du Vrijdagsmarkt 11. Cee Pil est connu pour son "glitch". Dans son travail, il fusionne deux images l'une avec l'autre. Il n'en est pas autrement cette fois-ci. Ensuite, Blommm a recouvert l'œuvre de fleurs, ce qui donne une combinaison unique.

Découvrez le street art lors du Seven Senses Tour

Voulez-vous admirer ces belles œuvres guidées? Au cours du Seven Senses Tour, un hôte gantois vous emmènera dans une promenade sensorielle à travers le centre-ville de Gand. En plus des œuvres d'art, vous serez emmené le long de joyaux historiques, vous naviguerez sur les voies navigables intérieures et vous vous arrêterez chez les créateurs gantois. Tous vos sens sont mis à l'épreuve au cours de cette expérience unique.

Le plan du street art de Gand

Vous ne pouvez pas en avoir assez du street art? Sous le label SORRY, NOT SORRY, la ville de Gand soutient le street art toute l'année, les exemples les plus visibles étant les grandes peintures murales qui peuvent être admirées dans toute la ville. Explorez les peintures murales de Gand sur la base du plan du street art.